Uxbridge Youth Centre

Restless Reader's Bookshelf

ENJOY OUR WEEKLY READING RECOMMENDATIONs!

Restless Reader's Bookshelf

Bookworms have no fear!

Every Monday we will provide you with a new book recommendation to add to your summer reading list. We will give you a quick description of what the book is about and where you can find yourself a copy! Don’t forget to keep track of all the books you read throughout the summer – feel free to use the printable “Books Read” list to keep track of the books you read! Print it off and decorate it any way to wish!

Check out our favorite books!

The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien

Book Club Pick: Week Eight

The Hobbit is a children’s fantasy novel written by the same author as The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien! The book follows a young hobbit as he sets off on a grand adventure with a group of dwarves. As the hired thief of the group, it’s the hobbits job to figure out how to steal back the gold that was taken by a fierce dragon at The Lonely Mountain. The Hobbit is a must read for any fan of fantasy and is vastly different than the film trilogy!

Peak by Roland Smith

Book Club Pick: Week Seven

We’re heading to the mountains! Mount Everest, to be exact. Peak by Roland Smith follows fourteen-year-old Peak Marcello after he’s been arrested for illegally climbing New York City skyscrapers. Peak is faced with the decision to head to juvenile prison or buy a plane ticket to Thailand to live with his father he hasn’t seen in years. Choosing the latter, Peak heads across the world and soon realizes his father has a plan for him. He wants his son to be the youngest person to ever get to the top of Mount Everest. This is the perfect book for readers who love adventure and travelling to new places- both in the real world and fictional!

Peak is available to order from Blue Heron Books.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Book Club Pick: Week Six

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness is an emotional graphic novel about a monster who visits young Conor every night and teaches him important lessons for life. Conor’s mom is very sick. He stays with his grandmother while his mother is in the hospital. The monster that visits Conor is supposed to be scary, like the one he’s seen in his dreams, but this monster is different. Through the pages of this book, illustrated by Jim Kay, a story of life and grief emerges that is sure to leave a mark on readers. A Monster Calls is the perfect book for readers who like an emotional story with a bit of darkness and hope.

After reading the book, readers can watch the 2016 movie starring Liam Neeson and Felicity Jones. A Monster Calls is available for order at Blue Heron Books on Brock St.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Book Club Pick: Week Five

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card is a classic science fiction novel about children and teenagers training to fight the Buggers- aliens that are threatening the human race. Young Ender Wiggin is placed in an outer space training academy due to his intelligence and may just hold the key to ending the battle against the Buggers. With the help of his peers in the academy, and his siblings, Ender embarks on a mission. Told over the course of many years, Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game has become a reoccurring recommendation for readers who love stories set in space. After reading the book, readers can sit back and watch the story unfold before their eyes by watching the 2013 movie.

If you would like to join Ender and his friends on this spatial journey, the book is available at Blue Heron Books.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Book Club Pick: Week Four

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir is the first book in a teen fantasy series. In a world inspired by ancient Rome, the Empire is a powerful state that has a hold on it’s citizens. Laia and her family do not question the government as they live in the poorer area of the Empire. But when Laia’s brother is arrested and the rebels offer her their help to find him, her life is swept into the Empire’s military academy, where she must spy for them. There, she meets Elias and soon their lives intertwine, and an adventure ensues. This book is perfect for readers who enjoyed Legend by Marie Lu and Divergent by Veronica Roth.

An Ember in the Ashes books two and three are available at the Uxbridge Public Library and all books are available for order at Blue Heron Books.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Book Club Pick: Week Three

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs is a book filled with vintage black and white photos that are sure to give you the creeps! Follow Jacob Portman as he travels to a Welsh island to learn more about his late grandfather, Abe. Along the way, Jacob meets unusual friends and embarks on an adventure of a lifetime. This is the perfect book to read around a campfire as the photographs in the book tell their own spooky story. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is the first installment in the current five-book series.

If you would like to start this series, the Uxbridge Public Library has books one, two, and five available and all five books are available for order at Blue Heron Books.

Legend by Marie Lu

Book Club Pick: Week Two

Legend by Marie Lu is a 2011 dystopian novel set in a futuristic United States. It tells the story of two lives that intertwine; Day, the suspect of a murder, and June, the sister of the victim. Readers will follow each of their stories as they come to realizations about the society they live in, which drives them to change the course of their lives, even if it means a revolution is necessary. This book is the first in a series that is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the four books. Legend is the perfect read for readers who liked The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The 100.

If you would like to read this series, all four books are available to order at Blue Heron Books and the first three books are available at the Uxbridge Public Library

Story Thieves by James Riley

Book Club Pick: Week One

While on vacation, it’s always nice to relax with a good book. The same could be said about being on vacation at home! This week we are recommending the perfect book that is packed full of adventure and thrill that will be sure to keep you entertained while on your staycation. Story Thieves is the first book in a middle school fantasy series written by James Riley. Bethany is searching every book in the library for her missing father and Owen wants to help. The two become a team and embark on an adventure, living through the literature they have read. Throughout their story, they jump into books, encounter friends and foe and learn about the consequences of their mission.

If you would like to get your hands on this book, it is available online at Blue Heron Books on Brock St and the Uxbridge Public Library. Both locations offer online purchases/reservations.